How Old Do You Have to Be to Buy CBD?

In the United States, the laws on buying CBD vary from state to state, even though the federal government has no age restrictions.


Some states do not allow the purchase of any CBD products, whereas others have an age requirement of 18 or 21 years or older. Then there are states with no age restrictions on purchasing CBD products.


Understanding your state's laws when purchasing CBD products is essential. This will ensure that you always abide by the laws and avoid consequences.


Related: Does CBD Get You High? Answers Backed by Science



Age Requirements for Buying CBD Products

When hemp and CBD products were legalized in the United States, the Farm Bill did not put an age requirement for purchasing. As a result, each state took it upon itself to decide whether or not it would allow the purchase of CBD and, if so, what age limit it would impose.


The states that decided to approve the purchase and possession of CBD chose between no age limit, 18 years or older, and 21 years or older. However, CBD products must derive from hemp, go through third-party testing and be under .3% THC content to be sold legally.


It is important to note that cannabis regulations and rules are frequently changing. With that said, the below information is subject to change.


What States Have No Age Restrictions on CBD?

As mentioned, some states have foregone age restrictions when buying CBD products. They include:


Alabama

While there is no age restriction when purchasing CBD, residents do need to be registered as a medicinal cannabis patient. In addition, purchasing CBD can only be done within state-approved dispensaries.


Arkansas

In Arkansas, there is no restriction on purchasing CBD products. However, you will need a license if you want to manufacture or sell CBD products.


Arizona

Arizona has no age limit as long as CBD products are derived from hemp and pass third-party testing.


Iowa

In Iowa, the laws are similar to Arizona. According to state-wide regulations, CBD products derived from hemp plants are allowed and can be sold without age restrictions so long as they meet specific criteria.


States with no age restrictions and similar regulations as Iowa and Arizona include:


  • Maryland
  • Missouri
  • New Jersey
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia

Not sure where to find hemp-derived CBD products? Go Botanicals has a wide selection to fit your needs!


States with 18+ Age Restrictions on CBD

 

cbd oil in a cup

 

California

Even though California has been one of the pioneers in the cannabis industry, there is an 18 years or older age restriction when purchasing CBD.


Colorado

In Colorado, anyone 18 years old or older can purchase hemp-derived CBD and hemp flower as long as it is less than .3% THC.


Connecticut

In Connecticut, you are required to have separate licenses for buying and producing CBD. If you want to grow, sell, or test CBD products, you will need a license and a separate license for buying CBD. You will need to be 18 or older to apply for either of these licenses.


Delaware

If you are 18 years old or older, you can buy hemp-derived CBD in Delaware without a license. However, to buy marijuana-derived CBD, you will need a medical license.


Florida

In Florida, the laws are lenient. As long as you are 18 years old or older, you can grow hemp and produce CBD products and CBD without a license.


Georgia

Unless an extreme medical condition allows you to buy CBD, it is illegal in Georgia. However, to qualify for a medical condition and buy CBD, you must be 18 years old or older.


Hawaii

Generally, you must be 18 or above to buy CBD in Hawaii. However, some retail stores may require you to be 21 years old or older.


Idaho

In order to buy CBD products in Idaho, products must be 0% THC content, and consumers must be 18 or older. In some areas, you may need to be 21 or older.


Kansas

In Kansas, CBD products need to be 0% THC; even if you are 18 or older, you will need a medical license to buy CBD.


Kentucky

In order to get a doctor's recommendation to buy CBD products, you must be 18 years or older.


Louisiana

Louisiana has no restrictions when purchasing CBD as long as you are 18 years or older.

The following states also have 18+ age restrictions for buying CBD:


  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Related: CBD for Back Pain


States With 21+ Age Restrictions on CBD

CBD Tincture Outdoors

Alaska

Alaska isn't exactly the CBD capital of the United States, as the products are hard to obtain. If you can find CBD products on the shelves, you will need to be 21 years or older.


Illinois

In Illinois, as long as you are 21 or older, you can buy CBD products derived from hemp or marijuana.


Indiana

Depending on the store, you can purchase CBD in Indiana at 18 or 21. Generally, most stores will require you to be 21 or older to buy CBD products containing .3% or less THC.


Maine

CBD products must be derived from hemp; you must be 21 or older to purchase.

Here are other states that require you to be 21 or older to purchase CBD products:


  • Rhode Island
  • Tennessee
  • Utah

Not sure if you need oral or topical CBD products? Check out Go Botanicals CBD gummies and roll-on isolate!


Can You Buy Marijuana-Based CBD Products?

Whether or not you can buy marijuana-based CBD products depends on your state. If you live in a state where marijuana is recreational or medical, then you can buy marijuana-based CBD products with varying THC levels. However, if you live in a state where marijuana is illegal, you must purchase hemp-derived CBD products.


State-by-State Age Requirements for Buying CBD

Overall, there are no age limits for buying CBD at a federal level. Check your state's laws to ensure you understand the laws and regulations in your area.


Related: What Does CBD Do? Is It a Scam?

← Older Post Newer Post →

Legal

RSS

Where Can I Legally Buy CBD Gummies Near Me?

Have you ever heard of CBD? Well, if you haven't, you're missing out. It's taking the world by storm for its potential health benefits, and...

Read more

What You Need To Know About CBD Certificate of Analysis

As the popularity of CBD products continues to soar, consumers must be well-informed to select safe, high-quality products.  A vital tool in this process is...

Read more

Featured product

$44.00 Sale Save
Subscription

Item is in stock Only 0 left in stock Item is out of stock Item is unavailable

Go Botanicals 1500mg Full Spectrum CBD gummies are expertly formulated to provide the whole plant benefits of hemp in each dose. Full spectrum products deliver a unique benefit referred to as the entourage effect, which supercharges the cannabinoids, making them more powerful together than they would be on their own. Suggested Dosage: For best results, take one Balance Blend CBD Gummy every morning and one every evening. CBD works best when taken regularly.

Compliance: Balance Blend CBD Gummies are compliant with the 2018 Farm Bill. The product contains a total delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) concentration that does not exceed 0.3%.

This content type will accept rich text to help with adding styles and links to additional pages or content. Use this to add supplementary information to help your buyers.

You can use product metafields to assign content to this tab that is unique to an individual product. Use tabs to highlight unique features, sizing information, or other sales information.